Welcome to the 2012 SIX Board election page.

The current bylaws of the Seattle Internet Exchange specifies that the Directors must be elected annually at the annual meeting of members.

On April 26th, 2012 during the annual member meeting, the membership will elect a new Board of Directors for the following 12 month term by secret ballot.

Currently there are 5 Directors. Each ASN/member may submit one ballot with a vote for up to 5 candidates.

Ballots will be distributed at the meeting, but members not attending in person may email the Secretary your proxy votes at info _a_t_ seattleix.net before 3:30pm Pacific on April 26th. (ballot below)

The current slate of candidates are:

Troy Davis / Co-Founder and CEO / Seven Scale
I create cloud computing businesses, most notably Papertrail, where I deliver log management as an Internet-facing hosted service. Prior to Seven Scale, I operated SIX member networks for Semaphore (AS 3742), Loudeye (14471), and Nack.Net (12095), and consulted for more than 20 other enterprises, startups, and NSPs. I was SIX janitor from 2003-2007 and implemented some of the layer 2 resiliency measures that are in use today. I'm active in the Seattle startup and dev/ops communities. Part of Papertrail's infrastructure is downstream from the SIX via other members. If re-elected, my goals are to create more ways for participants to get involved as volunteers (and encourage them to do so), settle on a sustainable operations model, support new board members, and recruit candidates for the 2013 board.

Scott Ehnert / Infrastructure Manager / Marchex
Scott Ehnert is the Infrastructure Manager at Marchex, AS 40495, and currently serves on the NANOG Communications Committee. Previously Scott has served as CTO at Spectrum Networks, AS11404, and Director of Network Engineering at Speakeasy, AS23504. Scott has been a participant at the SIX since 2000.

Patrick W. Gilmore / Chief Network Architect / Akamai technologies
Patrick Gilmore has worked at Akamai Technologies for 12 years. Patrick's group is responsible for peering and capacity, and manage Akamai's nearly 1100 network relationships for the world's largest CDN, which serves approximately 20% of all traffic on broadband connections. Prior to Akamai, Patrick worked at Onyx Networks, Concentric Networks, and Priori Networks. He is also Vice Chairman of the London Internet Exchange, on the board of the North American Operators' Group, and President & Vice Chairman of the PeeringDB.

Nick Guy / Principal Network Architect / NoaNet
Nick is the Principal Network Architect at the non-profit Northwest Open Access Network, AS16713. Prior to NoaNet he worked at Semaphore and Northwest Link where he started fixing networks in 1996. For many years prior to 1996 he worked for human service agencies in Seattle. He also volunteers at the SIX as a Technical Advisor.

Nikos Mouat / Chief Technical Officer / Adhost Internet
Nikos Mouat is the Chief Technical Officer at Adhost Internet, AS 11274 and also maintains AS3601 (Mouat's Technology Services), AS8092 (Ygnition Networks) and previously maintained AS4534 (IXA). Nikos is a founder of the SIX and has been an officer of the corporation since founding, on the Board since founding, and President since 2003. He has over 18 years experience in Internet engineering, architecture and operations.

Randy Rooney / Director of Data Engineering / Integra Telecom
Started my career in IT at GST Telecom in 96. Worked primarily as support and server administration. In 99 I moved to Techeads consulting working on IT at various companies but primarily at Enron broadband. In 01, I moved to Integra and started focusing primarily on networking. Major accomplishments include consolidating several ASNs, migrating ATM network to nationwide MPLS/IP network. Also migrated from transit only to public/private peering and received MEF certification achievement. For almost 16yrs I've been involved with IT/Telecom. I'm also a native Washingtonian forced to work in portland :-)

Mike Smith / VP of Network Engineering / Edgecast Networks
Mike is VP of Network Engineering at Edgecast Networks and has been a Technical Advisor to the SIX Board for many years. He is also the Treasurer for the NANOG Board of Directors. In the past, he was the CTO of Adhost and held senior engineering positions at NoaNet, Semaphore and Northwest Link. He has been connecting active participants to the SIX since 1997.

The opening of voting will be announced during the annual membership meeting. Once voting starts, no further proxies will be accepted via email.

Once all ballots are collected at the meeting, voting will close and the secretary will tally votes and announce the new Board of Directors.


SIX Board of Directors Election 2012 Ballot

Please refer to:


for short biographies of the candidates for the SIX Board of Directors.

Email your completed ballot to info@seattleix.net before 3:30pm on April
26th, or vote on paper at the meeting.


________ ASN (one ballot per member ASN)


You may vote for up to 5 of the following candidates for the SIX Board of
Directors.  Put an X next to up to 5 of the below candidates.

____ Troy Davis
     (not representing a member)

____ Scott Ehnert
     (representing member Marchex/AS40495)

____ Patrick W. Gilmore
     (representing member Akamai/AS20940)

____ Nick Guy
     (representing member Northwest Open Access Network/AS16713)

____ Nikos Mouat
     (representing members Adhost Internet/AS11274, Mouat's Technology Services/AS3601, Ygnition Networks/AS8092)

____ Randy Rooney
     (representing member Integra Telecom/AS7385)

____ Mike Smith
     (representing member Edgecast Networks/AS15133)

____ write-in: _____________________________

____ write-in: _____________________________