Seattle Internet Exchange
Annual Meeting
April 5th, 2019
Westin Building Conference Room on Floor 33
Minutes by Chris Caputo
Approved by Membership, April 16th, 2020


In the room:

Michael Boyle, Westin Building Exchange
Brian Burke, Amazon Web Services
Chris Caputo, Altopia / SIX / PeeringDB
Nathan Eisenberg, Atlas Networks
Nick Guy, Noel Communications
Justin Hammond, Green House Data
Skylar Hensel, SpaceX
Marvin Kunkel, Wholesail Networks
Roman Kutsel, Zillow
Patrick Li, Amazon Web Services
Ryan Maloney, Atlas Networks
Steve Milton, ISOMEDIA / ColoNW
Nikos Mouat, SIX / Mouat's Technology Services, Inc.
Matthew Moyle-Croft, Dyn / Oracle / SIX
Bruce Munro, Windwave
Tim Osburn, Packet
Caleb Pal, Rockisland
Tom Paseka, Cloudflare
Jeff Rennie, NoaNet
Christopher Rogers, Zillow
Garrick Sturgill, ISOMEDIA / ColoNW
Jake Terepocki, PureVoltage
John van Oppen, Wholesail Networks / Campus Colo
Mike Wittenberger, Green House Data
Walt Wollny, Hurricane Electric

On the phone:

Troy Davis
Patrick Gilmore, SIX
Chandler Hume, Threshold Communications
Eric Kuhnke, Noel Communications
Brad Raymo, StackPath
Rebecca Warren, Wave Broadband

Call To Order by Nikos Mouat at 3:01pm.


Approval of minutes from last year's meeting. Moved, seconded, and passed by acclamation and without objection.

Financial update by Chris Caputo followed by a discussion about reserves for major purchases.

Operational update by Chris Caputo.

Items brought up by the members / Technical and Policy Q&A:

John van Oppen initiated a discussion about the affiliate clause in the bylaws, indicating he does not support it. There was considerable debate and it was decided that the discussion be continued outside of the meeting.
Voting mechanisms were discussed and it was recommended that the Board figure out a way to determine authorized voters from each ASN, rather than just allow the first apparently legitimate voter from an ASN.

Board of Directors elections:

Erica Ehnert, Nikos Mouat, and John van Oppen were elected to seats expiring in 2021. Much appreciation to Patrick Gilmore for his service on the Board of Directors from 2008 to 2019. Thanks to Tom Paseka for being a candidate.