Seattle Internet Exchange, Inc.
Annual Meeting
April 13th, 2009
Westin Building Conference Room on Floor 16
Minutes by Chris Caputo
Approved by Membership, April 26th, 2010


In the room (based on registration sheets):

Michael Smith, Adhost Internet / SIX
Chris Caputo, Altopia / SIX
Ben Kirkpatrick, Amazon
Dave McGaugh, Amazon
Tom Scholl, AT&T
Chris Balocco, Bandwidth Advisors
Erica Hughes Ehnert, Big Fish Games
Aaron Seelye, Eltopia Communications
Justin Huff, Bitnik
David Whitlock, Clearwire
Chuck Goolsbee, Digital Forest
Merike Kaeo, Double Shot Security / Arista Networks
Ed Seiler, Fibercloud
Zack Hughes, Global Scholar
Michael Rose, Global Scholar
Steve Raymond, Integra Telecom
Scott Leibrand, Internap
Steve Rubin, Layer42
Nick Guy, NoaNET / SIX
Kyle Duren, Noel Communications
Allen Meeks, Noel Communications
Josh Wesselius, Noel Communications
Matt Peterson, Packet Clearing House
Bill Woodcock, Packet Clearing House
Bevil Wooding, Packet Clearing House
James Martin, Radiant Communications
Troy Davis, Seven Scale / SIX
Scott Ehnert, Speakeasy
Jim Glen, Speakeasy
Adam Zawyrucha, Speakeasy
Bill Bartlow, Spectrum Networks
Phil McGuire, Spectrum Networks
John van Oppen, Spectrum Networks
Mark Hagler, Spry
Andry Bunjamin, Swift Communications
Henry Goss, Swift Communications
Tim Osburn, Threshold
Nikos Mouat, Ygnition Networks / SIX
Ed Osckar, Wowrack
Jimmy Pandra, Wowrack

On the phone:

Patrick Gilmore, Akamai
Jared Reimer, Cascadeo / SIX
Marla Azinger, Frontier Communications
Steve Madsen, GCI
James Hindman, MegaPath
Walt Wollny, Microsoft
Rory Erickson, Peer 1 Network

3:00pm: Call To Order, Introductions and Welcome by Nikos Mouat.

3:03pm: Approval of minutes from last year's meeting. Moved, 2nd'ed and passed by acclamation and without objection.

3:04pm: Financial update by Chris Caputo.

3:07pm: Operational update by Chris Caputo, Troy Davis and Michael Smith. Group discussion.

3:14pm: Renumbering discussion:

IPv6: Consensus was that renumbering into ARIN space should begin immediately. Details will be announced to the mailing list.

IPv4: Consensus was that renumbering into ARIN space should begin in about three months at which time the bulk process will begin and happen over a period of several weeks. If the cost remains unchanged, the legacy space will continue for years to be available to those participants that choose to continue to use it. Details will be announced to the mailing list.

3:55pm: Discussion of Bylaws Section 6.4 'Privacy'. A language change was discussed but no motions were made. Consensus was that a refinement of the language may be proposed and revisited at the annual meeting next year.

4:13pm: Multicast peering tutorial by Steve Rubin of Layer42 Networks.

4:36pm: Items brought up by the members / Technical and Policy Q&A. Group discussion.

5:02pm: Board elections. Motion to re-elect Chris Caputo, Troy Davis, Patrick Gilmore, Nikos Mouat and Jared Reimer. 2nd'ed and passed by acclamation and without objection.

5:05pm: Adjourn.